Haley finishes fastest in first NCWTS practice, shifts focus to second session


Lilly Carter

NCWTS driver Justin Haley answers a question from Staff Writer Ashton Long. Haley topped the speed chart in the opening practice session.

Dana Gould, A&E co-Editor

Justin Haley, driver of the No. 24 for GMS Racing, had the fastest speed of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series first practice session at 178.029 mph and lap time of 31.141 seconds. He also ran the most laps of any driver in the session with 27 laps.

“We did pretty well right now, so probably not a lot [needs to be changed],” Haley said. “Obviously, we’re the fastest, so it was a good go. We just have to go back to second practice and [focus] on race stuff.”

Johnny Sauter of GMS Racing and Myatt Snider of ThorSport Racing tied for the second fastest speed with 177.040 mph and 31.315 seconds. The fourth fastest finish went to Stewart Friesen at 176.995 mph (31.323 seconds). Noah Gragson, driver of the No. 18 for Kyle Busch Motorsports, posted the fifth fastest speed at 176.589 mph and lap time of 31.395. Gragson completed 26 laps, the second most laps of anyone in the opening session.

“We just get a mock run, so I think the best thing we can do is to watch the video,” Haley said in preparation for the second practice session later today.

Kyle Busch of the No. 4 Cessna Toyota finished 8th with his fastest speed of 176.145 mph and  lap time of 31.474 seconds. Matt Crafton finished 12th with a fastest speed of 175.615 mph and lap time of 31.569 seconds. The tenth finish went to Dalton Sargeant of the No. 25 for GMS Racing with a fastest speed of 176.039 mph and lap time of 31.493 seconds.

Dawsonville native Spencer Davis, in the No. 51 for Kyle Busch Motorsports, finished sixth with a fastest speed of 176.392 mph and lap time of 31.430 seconds.

Austin Hill from Winston, Ga., driver of the No. 02 for Young’s Motorsports, finished 17th with a speed of 173.293 mph and lap time of 31.992 seconds.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series’ second and final practice session will take place at 4:05 p.m. this afternoon.